Recognition of Prior Learning

The University of London offers an excellent opportunity for you to use your existing qualifications to your advantage.

Recognition of prior learning is where we accept a qualification in place of one (or more) modules of the MBA, so you don’t need to take them as part of your degree.

If your prior learning is recognised, you could complete the MBA more quickly by studying fewer modules.

Some qualifications are recognised for up to five modules, which is a significant portion of the programme.

How we recognise prior learning

We recognise qualifications automatically if we have already confirmed that they meet the learning outcomes of a particular module or set of modules. A sample of the accepted awarding bodies is shown below.

For qualifications we have not reviewed before, any recognition is classed as discretionary. If you believe a qualification you hold reflects similar learning outcomes to MBA modules, you can apply for this to be recognised.

Awarding body Maximum recognition available
ACCA One core, four optional modules (75 credits)
CIMA One core, four optional modules (75 credits)
CFA Institute One core, four optional modules (75 credits)
CISI Four optional modules (60 credits)
ICAEW One core, four optional modules (75 credits)
Pearson Four core modules (60 credits)

For full details, including how to apply, rules and regulations, and a full list of automatic recognition arrangements and awarding bodies, see Recognition of Prior Learning.